Antibiotic Stewardship Commitment


Importance of Antibiotic Stewardship

Since their initial use in the 1940s, antibiotics have saved millions of lives. Many organizations, including The U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) and the World Health Organization, agree that antibiotic resistance has become an increasing problem over the ensuing decades. CDC estimates that each year in the United States, at least 2 million people become infected with bacteria that are resistant to antibiotics and at least 23,000 people die each year as a direct result of these infections

Urgent care centers provide 80-100 million U.S. outpatient visits per year - the vast majority of whom present with acute, infectious disease-related symptoms, such as cough, sore throat, and fever. Many of these patient expect an antibiotic prescription even when they don't need one. This challenge is amplified by the busy and walk-in nature of urgent care practice, and it is often difficult to help patients understand when antibiotics are appropriate. Thus, UCA recognizes the important role that the urgent care industry has in antibiotic stewardship.

The Commitment

UCA, the Urgent Care Foundation (UCF) and the College of Urgent Care Medicine (CUCM) are committed to doing our part to support and lead the urgent care industry forward in improving its antibiotic prescribing practices to reduce unnecessary antibiotic use and preserve the utility of these life-saving drugs.

JOIN US - and the organizations/individuals listed below - by signing the Antibiotic Stewardship (ABS) Commitment. Any healthcare organizations, individuals working in healthcare, or members of the general public who want to officially state their commitment to ABS can sign!

Many challenges lie ahead in the fight against antibiotic resistance. It is our ambition to make the urgent care industry a leader in outpatient antibiotic stewardship and in the fight against antibiotic resistance. By working together, we will maximize our chance for success.


Sign the Antibiotic Stewardship CommitmentAdditional Antibiotic Stewardship Resources

Clinicians, operations executives, and all speakers / attendees / exhibitors were welcome to sign the official Commitment to Antibiotic Stewardship pledge at the 2019 Urgent Care Convention & Expo in West Palm Beach. Pictured in the image are Dr. Frank Illuzzi, CMO of CityMD, and Dr. J.D. Zipkin, Chair, Quality Committee, Northwell Health GoHealth Urgent Care, commemorating their official signing of the commitment pledge.

Visit the Urgent Care Foundation Facebook page to view more images and to learn more about the Foundation's efforts towards antibiotic stewardship. 


Organizations Who Have Signed the ABS Commitment:

This list represents over 823 urgent care centers nationwide!

American Family Care
Banner Urgent Care Services
East County Urgent Care
Fast Pace Urgent Care
Fast Track Urgent Care
GoHealth Urgent Care
Imperativecare, Inc.
Integrity Urgent Care
Jupiter Medical Center Urgent Care 
Kaweah Delta Urgent Care
My Medical Device Diagnostics Company 
Parkview FirstCare
Patient Care Now Urgent Care
PhysicianOne Urgent Care
Piedmonth Urgent Care by Wellstreet
Premier Health
Reliant Immediate Care
Safe Care Express, PLLC
St. Joseph Hospital, Milford Medical Center Urgent Care 
TeamHealth Ambulatory Care

Urgent Care of NJ

Urgent Care Work Care
Vail Health
Vital Med Urgent Care
Xpress Wellness Urgent Care

Yubadocs Urgent Care 


Healthcare Workers Who Have Signed the ABS Commitment:

Piyal Alam, DO
Yvonne Athanatos, RN, MSN, APRN aFNP-BC
Khalid Aziz, MD 
John Mark Baker, MD
Shane Brooks, DO
Jesse Cedillo, MSPA, PA-C
Joseph Chow, MD, MBA
Tracey Q. Davidoff, MD, FACP, FCUCM
Tina Dewey
Katharyn Dispenza, APRN, PCPNP-BC
Lindsay Fowler 
Nicole Frommann, MD
Melissa Guerra, RN, BSN
Roger Hicks, MD
Steven Hull, RT
Heather Hutchison, FNP, NP-C
Frank Illuzzi, MD
Mary C Lombrana, FNP-C
Mary Lynn Joe, MD, FACEP
Jeannie Kenkare, DO
Sherri Klemow, MD
Megan Lange
Gilberto Garza Lozano, MD, FACP
Debra Margolis, DO
James S. Martin, MD 
Parul V. Martin, MD
Sean McNeeley, MD
Mark Meredith, MD, FACEP, CPE 
Amra Nasir, MD
Juan Neira, RN, FNP-BC
Trevor Nichols, PA-C
Alaine Oatman 
Patrick O'Malley, MD
John Onyema
Jennifer Mazza, ARNP-FNP-C
Andrew McMurray, MPH, PA-c
Mark Petrovani 
Jo Anne Pine, MD
Umanga Poudel 
Javier G. Reyna, APRN FNP-BC
Lou Romig, MD, FAAP, FACEP
Heather Roth, PA
Jennifer Rowlinson, PA-C
Mark Pundt, MD
Stanley Siefer, MD
Tammy Soles, MSN, RN, CNL

Joseph D. Toscano, MD
Veronica Vega, FNP, ENP
Treka Wenner, PA-C
Megan Wilhelm
Claudia Martin Williams, PAC
Kara Witsiepe, PA-C
Courtney Zentz, CMA
J.D. Zipkin, MD

Members of the General Public Who Have Signed the ABS Commitment:

Ashley Blachford - Illinois 
Jessica Kilduff - North Carolina
Melissa Pursley - Kentucky
Natasha Samuels - North Carolina
Frank Serrao - Ohio